General Election Highlights – Maryland House of Delegates


[photo, House Office Building, 6 Bladen St., Annapolis, Maryland]

Courtesy: Maryland Manual

Should the results from Tuesday’s election hold, the House of Delegates will be welcoming 42 new members. Manis Canning & Associates has created a House Chart summarizing the member changes by district, including who the new member replaced or defeated. Some results are summarized below.

Last term, Democrats held a 92-49 margin. In the new House, Democrats will hold a 98-43 margin.

District 3A (Frederick): Ken Kerr (D) defeated Delegate Bill Folden (R).

District 8 (Baltimore): Harry Bhandari (D) defeated Delegate Joe Cluster (R). Former Delegate Joe Boteler (R) will replace Delegate Christian Miele (R), who lost in his run for the Senate seat.

District 9B (Howard): Former Howard County Council Member Courtney Watson (D) defeated Delegate Bob Flanagan (R).

District 11 (Baltimore): Former Delegate Jon Cardin (D) will replace retiring Delegate Dan Morhaim (D).

District 13 (Howard): Howard County Council Member Jen Terrasa (D) will replace retiring Delegate Frank Turner (D).

District 21 (Anne Arundel and Prince George’s): Prince George’s County Council Member Mary Lehman (D) will replace retiring Delegate Barbara Frush (D).

District 24 (Prince George’s): Prince George’s County Council Member Andrea Harrison  (D) will replace retiring Delegate Carolyn Howard (D).

District 26 (Prince George’s): Former Delegate Veronica Turner (D) will replace Delegate Tony Knotts (D), who was defeated in the primary.

District 28 (Charles): Charles County Council Member Debra Davis (D) will replace retiring Delegate Sally Jameson (D).

District 29B (St. Mary’s): Brian Crosby (D) defeated Delegate Deb Rey (R).

District 34A (Harford): Steve Johnson (D) leads Delegate Glenn Glass (R) by 25 votes. Outcome may be affected by absentee ballots.

District 42B (Baltimore): Michele Guyton (D) leads a Republican candidate by 306 votes to replace Delegate Chris West (R) who successfully ran for the Senate. Outcome may be affected by absentee ballots.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s